Past Programs

 


 

FIRST QUARTER 2014 PROGRAMS

 

Thursday, March 27, 2014, THE WORLD BANK: EVOLUTION OF A VISION. Patrick Connolly, Ph.D., World Bank Senior Financial Advisor (ret.)

 

Friday, March 14, 2014, THE GOOD COMPANY: Profit, Ethics, and Sustainability, Robert Girling, Professor of Business Administration, Sonoma State University

 

Thursday, February 27, 2014, THE MIDDLE EAST AND COMING CHANGES IN THE BALANCE OF POWER, Jonathon Whooley, Department of International Relations, San Francisco State University   

 

 

Friday, February 7, 2014, BURMA AT THE CROSSROADS. Nyunt Than, Chair, Burmese American Democratic Alliance

 

Thursday, January 30, 2014, JAPAN ON THE MOVE: ECONOMIC, POLITICAL, Military Challenges Ahead? Tsuneo Akaha, Ph.D., Professor of International Policy Studies and Director of the Center for East Asian Studies, Monterey Institute of International Studies

 

 

Friday, January 17, 2014, TODAY'S FOREIGN POLICY: CAN WE LEARN FROM FDR? By Dr. Christopher O'Sullivan, University of San Francisco Professor.

 

Thursday, January 9, 2014, SYRIA: THE VIEW FROM JORDAN AND LEBANON, Richard Read, Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter.

 

 

FOURTH QUARTER 2013 PROGRAMS

 

Thursday, December 5, 2013, STUMBLING STONES:  Current Holocaust Remembrances in Germany, Myrna Goodman, Ph.D., Emerita Professor of Sociology, Sonoma State University and Howard Shattner, Filmmaker, Santa Rosa  .

 

Friday, November 8, 2013, CHILE: Geographic Diversity/Economic Boom/Election, Rolando Ortega, Consul General of Chile in San Francisco.

 

Thursday, November 14, 2013,  

CYPRUS: A Country Shaped by History, Gus Feissel, United Nations Assistant Secretary-General (retired)

 

 

Thursday, October 10, 2013, HUMAN TRAFFICKING - International, National, and Local: A Disgrace, Chris Castillo, Executive Director of Verity, Sonoma County’s Rape Crisis, Trauma, and Healing Center, Chris Mahurin, Detective, Santa Rosa Police Department, Domestic Violence/Sexual Assault Unit

Dana Bryant, Executive Director, Crossing the Jordan Foundation, Santa Rosa.

 

October 11, 12 and 26, 2013, UN Film Festival, Sonoma State University’s Warren Auditorium and SRJC’s Newman Auditorium.

 

Friday, October 18, 2013, BLIND AMBITION: Making Quality Eye Care Available Across China,

Jeffrey Parker, Vision in Practice, Shanghai, People’s Republic of China.

 

THIRD QUARTER 2013 PROGRAMS

 

Friday, September 27, 2013, OVERHEATED: THE HUMAN COST OF CLIMATE CHANGE, Andrew Guzman, Professor of Law and Associate Dean for International and Advanced Degree Programs at University of California, Berkeley.

 

Tuesday, September 10, 2013, CYBER SECURITY: POLICY, SECURITY & ECOMONIC IMPLICATIONS, Michael Nacht, Professor of Public Policy, Goldman School of Public Policy, UC Berkeley.

 

Thursday August 22, THE EGYPTIAN REVO:UTION: HOPEFUL OR HEARTBREAKING? Kathleen Riley, former Foreign Service Officer for U.S. State Department and Representative of the Director General of the Multinational Force and Observers in Cairo.

 

Thursday, August 15, 2013, A VISIT TO ENMANJI BUDDHIST TEMPLE IN SEBASTOPOL, George Thow, Ministerial Assistant, Enmanji Temple

 

Wednesday, August 7, 2013, WOMEN CHANGING THE WORLD, Fouzia Saeed, Ph.D., Human Rights Activist; Fellow, National Endowment for Democracy; Author, Working with Sharks.

 

Thursday July 25, 2013, Annual Picnic and Book Sale, Quail Inn, (Oakmont Golf Club) 7035 Oakmont Drive, SR

 

SECOND QUARTER 2013 PROGRAMS

 

Thursday, June 27, 2013, The Boy Who Saved Thousands of Lives, Reg Green, Retired journalist, Champion for International Organ Donation

 

Friday, June 14, 2013, China’s New Leadership: Who’s In and Hu’s Out? Crystal Chang, Ph.D., Lecturer, UC Berkeley; Adjunct Professor, Dominican University

 

Friday, May 24, 2013, Singapore: A Strategic Partner in the Pacific Rim, Hock Seng Chin, Consul-General of Singapore in San Francisco

 

Thursday, May 9, 2013, DIPLOMACY: Security Challenges in the 21st Century, Ambassador Maurice S. Parker, Retired State Department Diplomat

 

Thursday, April 25, 2013, QATAR: Sand, Sea, and Sky, Diana Untermeyer, author

 

Friday, April 12, 2013, The Euro Area: Phoenix or Fantasy? Barry Eichengreen, Professor of Economics and Political Science at the University of California, Berkeley.

 


 

FIRST QUARTER 2013 PROGRAMS

Friday, March 15, 2013, SAUDI ARABIA ON THE EDGE, Thomas W. Lippman, Author, Journalist, Adjunct Scholar/Middle East Institute

Thursday, March 7, 2013, WHAT CAN THE U.S. LEARN FROM THE CRISIS IN JAPAN? Michael Zielenziger, Visiting Scholar, University of California, Berkeley

 

Friday, February 22, 2013, NORTH KOREA: DEALING WITH A DIFFICULT AND DANGEROUS REGIME, David Straub, Associate Director of Korean Studies, Stanford University

 

Friday January 25, 2013 GALA 25TH ANNIVERSARY DINNER, SONOMA COUNTY: A TAPESTRY OF CULTURES, Gaye LeBaron, Sunday Columnist,  Santa Rosa Press Democrat

 

 

Thursday, January 10, 2013, NEPAL: Twenty Years of Change, Tom Arens, Peace Corps, founder of Friends of Nepal Pariwar (Family) Foundation

 


 


 


 

 
 

© Copyright World Affairs Council of Sonoma County